Tags

, , , ,

My friend Bobbie posted her thoughts on Lent earlier this morning on her Facebook page, and as I read her words, I was impressed to share them here on my blog.  So with her permission, I am sharing her writing with you…

‎1st Day of Lent and 39 days to Easter. So what are you giving up for lent? Is it chocolate? I always declared to the teachers of St. John Bosco catholic grade school that I was giving up peas or green beans but lately I’m thinking on what God gave up for me. Just for my trust in Christ the Lord gave up being worshiped in heaven to come here and be born into a no-name, lower income, carpenter’s tradesman family. I know what it’s like to live in a blue collar tradesman union family but I don’t know what it’s like to be sitting at a King’s throne with all of the angels and heavenly bodies worshiping you. So I’ll start the 40 days thinking about what was given up for me and I’m sure it was more than peas and green beans.” ~ Bobbie Ildefonso
 
Ash Wednesday

Photo credit: Crossmap

