Tags

, , , ,

When the alarm goes off and I hop out of bed, ready and full of energy for the new day, I am thankful.

When the kids wake up in a pleasant mood, smiling and snuggling with me in their half-asleep stupor, I am thankful.

When the mail arrives, and there are no new bills to pay, I am thankful.

When my husband arrives home from work safely and in a good mood, I am thankful.

When my son makes all As on his school work, I am thankful. 

When my daughter sleeps through the night, I am thankful.

But what about the other times?

I admit, it is not my natural response to be thankful when things don’t go as smoothly as they should.  Very few are the times when I can immediately produce a prayer of praise and thanksgiving under difficult circumstances.  But isn’t this the attitude the Holy Spirit wants to mature in me?

“Rejoice always; pray continually; in all things give thanks, for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Therefore, my goal is to work with the Holy Spirit to cultivate a habit of thankfulness.  I know it will take time, and it won’t be perfected until I reach Heaven.   But as I strive to live the life of holiness to which all believers have been called (1 Peter 1:13-16), I cannot ignore this command to give thanks in all things.

So when I tumble out of bed more asleep than awake…

When the kids cry and fuss and make messes I have to clean up…

When it seems that once again there will be more month than money…

When my husband comes home late and in a bad mood…

For better or for worse, I CHOOSE TO BE THANKFUL.

