Tags

, , , , ,

I have a 14-month-old daughter.  Unlike my son at that age, she is often content to play on her own.  Every day I am afforded opportunities to watch her as she entertains herself with blocks, puzzles, books, and shoes… every shoe within reach.  What can I say?  She is a (baby) woman, after all.

Yesterday morning, I took a break from the keyboard to check on her.  As I watched her play, I started to really observe her actions.  It was as if I could hear her thought process as she turned from one task to another.

“… If I pick this up this way, I won’t drop it like I did last time…”

“… The ball rolled under this big chair.  How do I get it back?”

“… This time I will lift my leg up as high as I can, and then I can climb onto the love seat … like so.  I did it!”

As I watched her, the Holy Spirit brought this Scripture passage to my mind:

Matthew 18:2-4, NIV

He called a little child and had him stand among them. And he said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.

I thought about what I had observed in light of these verses, and suddenly I could see past her actions, and into her feelings…

“I am so excited to hold this!  Oh no, I dropped it.  Let me try again – I know I can figure out a better way.”

“I can see the ball under there, but I can’t reach it.  I’ll cry for Mama.  I trust her to help me.”

“I know I’ve fallen and slid off this love seat every other time I’ve tried to get up on it… but I just know I can get up there if I try… ONE … MORE … TIME.  There!  I did it!  I’m the queen of the world!”

I realized I was looking at examples of what my attitudes should be if I approach my life and my Lord as a little child.  What would my thoughts and emotions look like if I had the enthusiasm, determination, and simple faith of my small daughter?

“I just tried something new.  It didn’t work out as I planned, but I’m still excited about it!  If I think about it and pray about it, I’m sure I can give it another go.”

“This is a hard situation.  I don’t think I can handle it alone.  Wait!  I don’t have to.  Father God, please help me!  I trust in You!”

“I have faced this challenge before.  I learned some hard lessons… collected some bumps and bruises along the way….  I am going to learn from my past, pick myself up with God’s help, and try ONE MORE TIME.”

What a lesson, right in the middle of my den, taught through a little spunky bundle of toddler energy and love.  Yes, Lord, I got it.

Thank You, Father, for showing me how to approach You like a child.  May I experience joy, faith, and peace without reservation, as my daughter does so freely.  In Jesus’ precious name, Amen.

Has God taught you a lesson through the life of a child?  What Scripture verses come to your mind as you watch children learn and play?  How have you learned to approach God like a child?  

Feel free to share in the comments.  Have a blessed day!

