Tags

, , , ,

This is a flower from the bottom of a banana p...

Photo credit: Wikipedia

Spring is notoriously busy.  Yard sales, spring sports, park play-dates, school activities, parties, concerts, fundraisers, graduations… all on top of the normal day-to-day hustle and bustle.  It all combines to fill my calendar to the brim.  And I love it.

I thrive on seasons of busyness.  I love to have places to go and fun things to do once I arrive.  Somehow these days make me feel more alive than I’ve felt all winter long.  I feel like a bee flying from one freshly opened blossom to another, collecting a few bits of sweet fellowship and priceless memories along the way.

But there is only so much activity a body can take in one season.  I just have to be sure that I don’t allow myself to get stretched to the snapping point. You know, snapping at the husband, the kids, the pets, the cashier at the dollar store…  As I was pondering this thought, a Scripture passage came to mind:

28 Have you not known?
Have you not heard?
The everlasting God, the Lord,
The Creator of the ends of the earth,
Neither faints nor is weary.
His understanding is unsearchable.
29 He gives power to the weak,
And to those who have no might He increases strength.
30 Even the youths shall faint and be weary,
And the young men shall utterly fall,
31 But those who wait on the Lord
Shall renew their strength;
They shall mount up with wings like eagles,
They shall run and not be weary,
They shall walk and not faint.  ~ Isaiah 40:28-31, NKJV

God reminded me of a few truths through these verses:

  • Growing weary is natural for us.  It is to be expected.
  • Growing weary is impossible for God.
  • When we wait for the Lord (trust in Him, hope in Him) He renews our strength.
  • Periods of activity must be punctuated by periods of quiet rest and meditation at the foot of the throne of God.

Thank You, Creator God, for knowing us inside and out.  Thank You for the example You set from the very beginning – one of work, pleasure, and rest.  We thank you for giving us energy to participate in life’s busy seasons.  We also thank you for the rest and renewal we find in Your presence.  May we be aware of our need to recharge and refocus, and may we be disciplined – with Your help, Holy Spirit – to stop and wait for You, trusting you to fill us anew with Your power and love.  In Christ’s name, Amen.

