Tags

, ,

a beach in maine on a clear day with a sailboat

What does God say about anxiety?

God tells us to concentrate on what is true and positive:

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things.  – Philippians 4:8

We must believe that God is sovereign – that He has planned our days for our best.  We must trust Him.

5 I am the LORD, and there is no other;
apart from me there is no God.
I will strengthen you,
though you have not acknowledged me,
6 so that from the rising of the sun
to the place of its setting
men may know there is none besides me.
I am the LORD, and there is no other.
7 I form the light and create darkness,
I bring prosperity and create disaster;
I, the LORD, do all these things. – Isaiah 45:5-7

God has the future taken care of – no need for worry.

1 Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. 2 In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. 3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. – John 14:1-3

Thank You, God, for reassuring us through Your Word when we experience anxious feelings and thoughts.  Thank You for Your perfect peace.  Help us to trust You each day, for each need and care we have.  Amen.

(excerpted from “Quick Scripture Reference for Counseling Women” by Patricia A. Miller; 2002, Baker Books, Grand Rapids, MI.  pp. 36-37)

Click here for more on this book, including purchasing information.

