Tags

, , , ,

English: Jesus healing the servant of a Centur...

Image via Wikipedia

Do you ever arrive at the end of the day and suddenly realize that you’ve been half-awake, half-aware, and half-invested in the day’s activities?

Sometimes I do.  Depending on the day and the circumstances, some days I call it “fuzzy Mommy brain.”  Other days I call it “sleep deprivation.”  For the last six months or so, I’ve called it “depression.”

Today I am calling it “apathy.”

And I am wondering – did Jesus ever struggle with apathy?

I can’t be sure, but I do know that He demonstrated a contrasting attitude – compassion.

Matthew 9:35-38

35 Then Jesus went about all the cities and villages, teaching in their synagogues, preaching the gospel of the kingdom, and healing every sickness and every disease among the people. 36 But when He saw the multitudes, He was moved with compassion for them, because they were weary and scattered, like sheep having no shepherd.37 Then He said to His disciples, “The harvest truly is plentiful, but the laborers are few. 38 Therefore pray the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into His harvest.

Jesus saw the people around Him.  He cared about them.  He didn’t let weariness or discomfort or other people’s opinions stop Him.  He had a mission from the Father, and He was determined to obey.  He knew that these people desperately needed what He had to give.

I see people around me.  I should care about them.  I shouldn’t let my laziness or pride or embarrassment or busyness stop me from doing what God has told me to do.  I know that these people desperately need what I have to share – the love of Jesus, love that brings forgiveness, healing, and hope.

It’s not about me.

It’s about Jesus.

Matthew 22:37-40

37 Jesus said to him, “‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and great commandment. 39 Andthe second is like it: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ 40 On these two commandments hang all the Law and the Prophets.

