Tags

, , , ,

Christ in Gethsemane (Christus in Gethsemane),...

Image via Wikipedia

So Jesus said, “When you have lifted up the Son of Man, then you will know that I am he and that I do nothing on my own but speak just what the Father has taught me. The one who sent me is with me; he has not left me alone, for I always do what pleases him.” ~ John 8:28-29, NIV

Jesus knew that human relationships are important.  He ministered to people daily.  He had a group of close friends with whom he traveled, ate, laughed and cried.  They did life together, with all the daily ups and downs.

But, although Jesus loved and cherished these people, He never let them distract Him from His number one priority – doing the Father’s will.  Jesus’ every action and His every word were motivated and guided by what He heard the Father speak to Him.

Jesus prayed often.  He knew He had to keep in constant contact with Father God in order to stay in tune with the Father.  He recognized the stress that His ministry caused in His life.  He knew that the fellowship He experienced with God the Father during His solitary moments was the power source for everything He did in human form.

What about us?  Do we put our relationships ahead of time spent alone with God in prayer, praise, and meditation?  Do we let circumstances distract us from living as a Christian should?  Do we get so caught up in “doing life” that we start to rely on our own energy and ideas?  Do we fall into the lazy habit of assuming the “good” choice is always the RIGHT CHOICE in God’s plan, instead of taking the time to pray for discernment?  Do we get to the end of the day, and realize that we never actually took time to rest and listen in the presence of our Creator God?

I have to answer a painful “Yes” to all of these questions.  But once I see what I am doing, I can – and must – change these habits if I am to be obedient to God.

Please, God, make me more aware of the times I start to replace my time with You (the most important thing) with the busyness of my life (the second most important things).   Help me to prioritize my quiet time with You, so that I can grow more attuned to Your Will for my life. Thank You for the wisdom, grace, and power You give me so generously when I take the time to ask for and receive them.  Please help me to be a good example to my children and others who observe my habits; may they see me turn to You constantly and consistently.  Amen.

