Tags

, ,

Nectarine (Prunus persica) fruit development o...

Image via Wikipedia

Psalm 1 (NIV)

1 Blessed is the one
who does not walk in step with the wicked
or stand in the way that sinners take
or sit in the company of mockers,
2 but whose delight is in the law of the LORD,
and who meditates on his law day and night.
3 That person is like a tree planted by streams of water,
which yields its fruit in season
and whose leaf does not wither—
whatever they do prospers.

 4 Not so the wicked!
They are like chaff
that the wind blows away.
5 Therefore the wicked will not stand in the judgment,
nor sinners in the assembly of the righteous.

 6 For the LORD watches over the way of the righteous,
but the way of the wicked leads to destruction.

Like a tree planted by streams of water…

God has been using verse 3 to speak to me this week.  This is what he has been showing me:

“Like a tree planted by streams of water” – As Christians, we have access to the Living Water (John 7:37-39), which is the Holy Spirit.  We are to sink our roots deep into the sustaining power of the Spirit, constantly renewing our hearts and mind through this resource.

“Which yields its fruit in season” – God is teaching me that we go through seasons that are more fruitful than others.  He showed me that I have been living with the false idea that if I am a “good” Christian, I should be constantly yielding fruit (I mean fruit that is visible to those around me), and that fruit should be always increasing.  Yes, I should be maturing in my faith and showing consistent progression in sanctification.  But every fruit-bearing plant, tree, and vine only produces its fruit at the proper time of year.  It goes through cycles of pruning, growth, blossoming, fruit-growing, and harvest.  Through this verse, God is changing the way I look at the seasons of my life.  He truly does have a purpose for every season, and if I will just trust His timing, the fruitful season will come (Ecclesiastes 3:1-8).  And it will be amazing.  Just like God is.

“Whose leaf does not wither” – Whatever comes, the leaf does not wither, does not dry up, does not fall from the tree and get blown away by the wind.  God reminds me through these words that I have eternal security in Him.  That security began at the moment that I accepted Jesus as my Savior and Lord, and it has continued every day since.  I am living in it every moment.  I just have to discipline myself to live it.

◊ “Whatever they do prospers” – Living in eternal security is to conduct my life in such a way that I keep God’s eternal perspective on my mind.  To trust the Holy Spirit to mold and bend my thoughts, words, and actions to the Father’s will, so that He can perform Kingdom work through me.  To love like Jesus loves.  To forgive like Jesus forgives.  To show grace, mercy, and kindness the way Jesus did as He walked the earth.  Then the fruit that God plans to cultivate in my life can grow and flourish.

One last thing… I am reminded that a pear tree does not bear cherries, neither does a blueberry bush produce bananas.  We will not bear any fruit other than that God has made each of us to produce.  We should not compare our fruits (or gifts, talents, blessings or perceived lack thereof) to other Christians.

Have a blessed evening… may you find yourself meditating on the awesome wonder and love of God as you drift off to sleep tonight.  He is worthy of our attention every moment of every day.

