Tags

, , , ,

4 Where the word of a king is, there is power;
And who may say to him, “What are you doing?”
5 He who keeps his command will experience nothing harmful;
And a wise man’s heart discerns both time and judgment,
6 Because for every matter there is a time and judgment,
Though the misery of man increases greatly.  ~ Ecclesiates 8:4-6

The holiday season always means that there are more demands on our time than at any other time of year.  Holiday shopping, baking, parties, school activities, church activities, decorating, community events, visits to or from relatives and friends… I’m sure you could add even more to this list.  And all of this is in addition to our everyday routine.

So, how do we keep our sanity intact at this time of year?  One way is to find small ways to simplify.  “A wise man’s heart discerns both time and judgment,” God tells us in Scripture.  So with that in mind, here is today’s sanity saver…

MONDAY SANITY SAVER: CLEAN UP EMAIL SUBSCRIPTION AND FACEBOOK FRIEND LISTS

Think about how much time you will save once you don’t have to sort and sift through all those email advertisements and newsletters that you just don’t have time to read.  How much more enjoyable will your Facebook time be when you don’t have to scroll through screens of updates and links that you always skip over anyway.

Lately, my philosophy has changed on my social media interactions.  I used to hang on to a lot of email and bookmark a lot of pages because I told myself, “One day, I will NEED this information.”  But then I took an honest look at how often I actually went back to read that email or look up that bookmarked page – hardly ever.

Now, I delete emails with almost reckless abandon.  I unsubscribe from newsletters and company ads.  And (*shocker*)  I hide a lot of my page subscriptions in Facebook.  I’m still subscribed, they just don’t show up on my news feed.

With the amazing power of internet search engines, I know that if I have an urgent need for a bit of info, it won’t take me long to find it.  And by simplifying my email and Facebook time, I now have more time for life away from the keyboard and monitor… or for a computer game of Battleship.

Have a success story to share?  Ideas for other sanity savers?  Feel free to leave a comment!  Have a great Monday!

