Once again playing catch-up… but then again, life and family are a little more important than blog posts.  And Thanksgiving afternoon is a nice time to sit back with a cup of coffee and catch up on my writing.

Day 19 – I am thankful for baking.

On the 19th, I had to bake two cream-cheese pound cakes for a church fundraiser.  A few days earlier, I made two peach cobblers.  I had taken a break from baking, with the baby coming and the hottest summer ever… but now it is officially the holiday season (even though it is still hot) and I am ready to bake!

Baking has always been therapeutic for me.  I don’t exactly understand why.  All I know is that measuring and mixing, sifting and creaming, baking and cooling – the method combines to calm me and help me feel creative at the same time.

I am not a craft person.  As a matter of fact, I describe myself as “craft-less.” But I feel a sense of achievement when I remove the freshly baked cake, cookies, brownies, cobblers, pies, sweet bread, or danish from the oven.

I’m looking forward to doing some baking over the coming weeks.  And I plan to share some of these delicious baked goods with family and friends.  That is another great thing about baking – it warms my heart to share the goodies from my kitchen with others.

I pray that each of you have enjoyed a blessed and happy Thanksgiving Day.

