Wednesday nights are church nights in our family.  There’s always a sense of excitement (read: running late) around the house as we get homework finished and supper swallowed.  Some Wednesday nights are crazier than others, but we know that we are blessed as we gather with our Christian family for the midweek spiritual battery recharge.

Day 16 – I am thankful for Awana clubs.

Awana

Image via Wikipedia

Awana stands for “Approved Workmen Are Not Ashamed.”  This is our family’s fifth year of association with Awana clubs.  I don’t even know how to begin to tell how much we have been blessed through this ministry.

First of all, my son is growing in his knowledge of Scripture and God.  He has been in Awana clubs since he was two – this is his fifth year.  He has memorized more Scripture verses thus far in his young life than I did through my entire childhood and teens!

Awana club has also helped my son learn classroom discipline and cooperation.  His leaders have enforced rules while making each club night fun and exciting!  And with the rewards-based system of learning, it is easier to motivate him to learn his verses each week.

My husband and I have also worked in the Awana clubs as leaders.  I am very thankful for the time I spent as a TNT (Truth-n-Training) leader, helping 3rd-5th grade boys and girls learn about God’s love for them as revealed through Scripture.  This experience really helped me to grow in my Christian walk.

I learned more patience.  I learned to rely on God for the words the kids needed to hear out of my mouth.  I learned to let each child teach me their unique personality and learning style.  I learned to work with adults whose teaching and leadership styles were very different from my own – but no less effective.  I learned to step back and let God take His time to work in the hearts and minds of the kids.  I learned that God works through children to reach their families and draw them to Himself.

And along the way, I learned a few Scripture verses myself.

Thank You, God, for Awana clubs.  Please bless each club around the world, bless each child, and continue the marvelous work You have been doing in each family associated with the clubs.  Please give wisdom and understanding to the leaders who give so much of their time and energy to this great program.  Thank You for every person who has accepted Christ as Savior because of Awana clubs.  We pray that there are many, many more in the years ahead!  In Jesus’ name, Amen 

