Tags

, , , ,

Basilica of Sant'Apollinare Nuovo in Ravenna, ...

Image via Wikipedia

Good Monday Morning!

As we begin this new week, the Lord has challenged me to “lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. For consider Him who endured such hostility from sinners against Himself, lest you become weary and discouraged in your souls.” (Hebrews 12:1b-3, NKJV)

Over the past couple of years, I became weary and discouraged in my soul.  It happened gradually, and I didn’t realize the full extent of it until recently.  God has been bringing me through a season of resting in Him, so that He can renew my strength and my hope.  Nothing I can do on my own – drinking lots of coffee, popping energy pills, repeating self-help phrases all day – will bring the endurance and peace that only God can provide.

Laying aside the weight and sin… that is a challenge.  But as I focus on Jesus Christ, my Savior and Lord, and I remember what He sacrificed for me, my faith grows stronger.  I can face the day with confidence, knowing that I am not doing anything on my own.  Christ strengthens me so that I can do all the things His will holds for me today.  (Philippians 4:13, my paraphrase)

MONDAY SANITY SAVER: CLEAN OUT AND UPDATE MEDICATIONS

Last night, we had the typical parenting experience of middle-of-the-night fever.  It took me a few moments to find it (could have been the sleepiness?) but I did have a new bottle of Children’s Advil, and it was not expired.  How did this happen?  Not by accident.

Every four months or so, I go through all of our medications.  I toss the stuff that has expired.  I re-organize the medicine shelf so that items are easily found.  I re-stock the medications we are running low on.  I throw out old cough drops and other little items that get tossed here and there, forgotten in the back of a kitchen or bathroom drawer.

You know which over-the-counter meds your family has need of on a regular basis.  It would save your sanity to always have these on hand.  It seems like so many illnesses and emergencies happen overnight or during weekends and holidays.  The closest 24-hour pharmacy to our home is about an hour away.  We can’t depend on midnight dashes to the corner drugstore. It pays to be prepared to handle the basic medical issues at home.

I pray that you have a wonderful Monday.  Take the time to give thanks to God today for three specific blessings. You’ll be glad you did! 

