Tags

, ,

My good friend Debbie over at Just Another 15 Minutes  posted a challenge on her blog: to publicly give thanks for a specific aspect of our lives on each of the 30 days in November.  I am taking that challenge, and I hope you will join us!

Day 13 – I am thankful for sleep.

Sleep is good.  Sleep is necessary.  Sleep is underrated.  Sleep is scarce around here lately!

We have an eight-month-old.  Even on the nights when she sleeps all night, I wake up to check on her, check on her brother, visit the restroom, get a sip of water… will I ever get to sleep through an entire night again?  I’m not holding my breath.

So I am thankful for sleep when I can get it.

Sleep rejuvenates the body.  Sleep refreshes the soul.  We need a respite from the constant soundtrack of our minds, and sleep gives us that much-needed break from consciousness.  Sleep is ignorance, and ignorance is bliss.

When Jezebel threatened to kill Elijah and he fled, he fell asleep under a broom tree.  An angel ministered to him there, and allowed him to sleep again before he had to start his 40-day journey to Mount Horeb.  Sleep rebuilds strength.  (See 1 Kings 19)

Jesus and his disciples were in a boat.  Jesus was asleep when a terrible storm arose.  His disciples woke him up; they were afraid the boat would sink.  Jesus could sleep through the storm because He knew that they were safe.  Sleep reflects peace.  (See Mark 4:35-41)

Thank You, Lord, for sleep – whenever and however it comes.  Please renew my strength and refresh my soul through the rest You provide.  Amen.

