Tags

, , , , ,

My good friend Debbie over at Just Another 15 Minutes  posted a challenge on her blog: to publicly give thanks for a specific aspect of our lives on each of the 30 days in November.  I am taking that challenge, and I hope you will join us!

Day 12 – I am thankful for safety and health.

Our family, Easter 2011

I used to take my safety and health for granted. I used to take the safety and health of my family for granted.

Then my parents were in a motorcycle accident that would have taken both their lives if God had not supernaturally protected them.

Then I miscarried twins.

And I have a good friend who is fighting cancer for the sixth time. (Prayers appreciated!)

I have another good friend whose family moved early in the summer, and they have all been battling illness since the move – in fact, their children have fevers this weekend.  (Prayers appreciated!)

I have a dear friend who battles anxiety and depression.

I have a cousin whose one-year-old son drowned in 2009.

Everywhere I look, I see reasons to thank God – TO THANK HIM AT THE TOP OF MY VOICE! – for the health and safety of my family.

My husband’s job requires him to drive long distances to serve the clients in his territory.  I thank God that for over five years in this job, He has protected my husband as he travels.

My children are healthy and developing normally.  They are kept safe because God watches over them and sets His angels around them.  He gives His angels charge over my family, and we are protected as we come and go, as we rise in the morning and lie down in the evening.

I do not take health and safety for granted as I previously did.  I know that God takes care of all of us, and I ask Him for His protection daily.  Please join me in praying for those I mentioned above who deal with illness and injury.  I’m sure you have your own list of people for whom you pray – don’t stop praying.  Lift these precious ones up to God’s Throne.  And be sure to thank Him for the blessings of protection and good health in your own life.

