Tags

, , , ,

My good friend Debbie over at Just Another 15 Minutes  posted a challenge on her blog: to publicly give thanks for a specific aspect of our lives on each of the 30 days in November.  I am taking that challenge, and I hope you will join us!

Day 11 – I am thankful for American veterans.

Okay, for the 11th this might seem obvious, and I admit that Veteran’s Day inspired me today.  But I really am thankful for the men and women who have served in the American Armed Forces through the past two-and-a-half centuries. I am thankful and forever indebted to them, and their families, for the sacrifices made and the battles fought for my freedom.

But beyond this, I am thankful for veterans because I am the daughter of one.  My dad is a Master Chief in the Navy Reserves.  He too has sacrificed a lot to serve our country and protect our freedom.  So I am thankful for my dad – he is a hero to me.

Master Chief Tuten, Pass and Review 2007 (marching to left of the standard bearer)

Thank You, Lord, for American freedom, bought at the high prices of America lives.  Please help us not to take our freedom for granted.  Please help us to continue to defend our freedom, and also to defend those who are helpless to defend themselves.  Most of all, please help us to share the message of TRUE FREEDOM that is only found through faith in Your Son, Jesus Christ.  Amen. 

 

