Tags

, , , , ,

Emergency "Twitter was down so I wrote my...

My good friend Debbie over at Just Another 15 Minutes  posted a challenge on her blog: to publicly give thanks for a specific aspect of our lives on each of the 30 days in November.  I am taking that challenge, and I hope you will join us!

Day 10 – I am thankful for technology.

Okay, this may sound strange to some of you… just hang with me a minute.

First of all, I do like to use computers.  I like to surf the web. I like Facebook and Twitter and Pinterest. But I’m one of those geeks who also likes to make spreadsheets and can enjoy a data entry desk job.  Email, Google Earth, Live365 Internet Radio, Spotify… not to mention games and photos, recipes and lesson outlines for church.  My computer does make my life easier.  I just have a hard time limiting my computer time because it is more than a tool to me, it’s a hobby. I pray for balance in this area, especially since I started blogging!

Secondly, I really appreciate my smartphone.  I’ve only had it a little over a year, but what a difference it’s made!  Checking the weather, checking (and deleting) email, texting pictures and video, posting pictures and video to Facebook and YouTube, games, music apps, calendar, Bible apps – I even have an app that helps me share the gospel with people!  And it helps to pass the time in the carpool line, doctor’s office waiting room, and especially when the boy needs some entertainment (road trips).

Lastly, I appreciate the ways that technology has enriched my life.  From electricity and running water to Skype, I am grateful for the many ways that my life is easier and richer.  Appliances like flatirons and coffee pots that shut off automatically – these keep my family safe.  Music available anytime, anywhere through Live365, Pandora, and Spotify (not to mention old-fashioned FM radio) – these help me keep my sanity.  Music is my Valium.  Programs like email, Skype, and texting – these help me stay connected with friends and family who live far away.

So although you will never hear me sing an ode to technology (grin*), I do thank God for allowing me to live in this technology-rich age.  I shudder to think what my life would be like without all the modern conveniences.  Thank You, Lord, for indoor lighting and indoor plumbing!  Amen.

*and now, for your viewing pleasure…

