Tags

, , , ,

My two best friends - my sister and my mom!

My good friend Debbie over at Just Another 15 Minutes posted a challenge on her blog: to publicly give thanks for a specific aspect of our lives on each of the 30 days in November.  I am taking that challenge, and I hope you will join us!

Day 8 – I am thankful for friends.

No, I’m not talking the TV show.

And I’m not talking about the ones who say “Let’s get together” or “I’ll call you” but you never hear from them again.

And I’m not talking about the ones who signed “LYLAS” or “BFF” in your yearbook, but somehow forgot you existed after you both moved on from high school or college.

And I’m not talking about the one who turned out to be a bad influence – the “rotten apple.”

And I’m not talking about the one who genuinely cared for you, but ultimately chose their own selfish gain over your friendship.

I’m talking about the kind of friend that God sends:

The friend who loves me, even when I am hard to love…               A friend loves at all times… Proverbs 17:17

The friend who gives me godly, heart-felt advice when I need it…                     Ointment and perfume delight the heart, and the sweetness of a man’s friend gives delight by hearty counsel.  Proverbs 27:9

The friend who keeps me accountable as a wife, a mother, and a sister in Christ…                                                                                                   As iron sharpens iron, So a man sharpens the countenance of his friend. Proverbs 27:17

The friend who can weep and laugh with me…                                             And when she has found it, she calls her friends and neighbors together, saying, ‘Rejoice with me, for I have found the piece which I lost!’ Luke 15:9

The friend who sacrifices her time (sometime even sleep!) to help, or to just listen…                                                                                                     Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends. John 15:3

I am thankful that God has blessed me with several good Christian female friends.  These are women who love me, support and encourage me, correct me firmly in love, challenge me, pray for me, pray with me, laugh and cry with me, and inspire me to be a better servant of God.  My prayer is that, to some degree, I can do the same for them.

And so, with these traits in mind, and remembering the lessons of the past, I have resolved to choose my friends carefully…

The righteous should choose his friends carefully, For the way of the wicked leads them astray. Proverbs 12:26

Hanging out with some good friends at Women of Joy 2011

