Tags

, , , , , ,

A Ketubah in Aramaic, a Jewish marriage-contra...

Image via Wikipedia

My good friend Debbie over at Just Another 15 Minutes posted a challenge on her blog today: to publicly give thanks for a specific aspect of our lives on each of the 30 days in November.  I am taking that challenge, and I hope you will join us!

Day 1 – I am thankful for my husband.

My husband D.L. and I have been married a little over eight years.  I must be honest.  There have been a lot of days during the past eight years when I was not thankful for him.  Instead, I was mad, frustrated, disappointed, hurt, angry, and hard-hearted when I thought of him.  Like all married couples, our relationship has had good times and not-so-good times.  Unfortunately, I have to say that up to this point, there have been more not-so-good than good.

But (you knew there had to be a but!) during this summer, God really began to work in both our hearts in big ways, and this included our marriage.   So now I can say that little by little, things are getting better with us.

I am thankful for my husband.  He loves God with his whole heart and seeks to fulfill God’s call on his life with passion and energy.  He is a very hard worker.  He has always taken his role as provider for the family seriously, and does not make rash decisions.  He is a devoted father.  He is growing into a godly leader, both in our home and in the ministry.  He lives a life of integrity, and seeks to guard his heart, his eyes, and his mind.  And I am thankful to God that He brought us together in marriage, to establish a Christian household and raise our children up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord (Ephesians 6:4).  I am thankful that God has worked in both our hearts to begin a transformation in our marriage.  And I am excited to see what he has in store for us!

So, do you feel up to the challenge?  What are you thankful for?  Leave a comment and let us know!  And if you decide to post your own thankfulness blog series, leave a link to that as well!

