Tags

, , , , ,

Holy Spirit Stained Glass

Have you ever wondered how to discern the will of God?

Romans 12:2 (HCSB)

Do not be conformed to this age, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may discern what is the good, pleasing, and perfect will of God.

This verse came to my attention Sunday during a devotional reading at church.  Although I have heard and read it many times, this time the Holy Spirit tapped me on the shoulder and said, “Here’s something I want to show you.”

This verse gives clear instruction for discerning the will of God.  We are told to “be transformed by the renewing of your mind” in order to know the Father’s will.  So, how do we renew our minds in order to affect this transformation?  We replace our words with His Word.

Have you ever thought about how much you think?  How many of our thoughts are about things that are true, lovely, honorable, just,  and pure as Paul exhorts us in Philippians 4:8?  How often do our thoughts immediately jump to the negative in a situation?  How many of our thoughts are anything but lovely, true, just, and pure?

By reading, memorizing, and meditating on Scripture, we begin to replace our not-so-holy thoughts with God’s thoughts.  We start to replace our negative speech with God’s truth.  Our minds are renewed continually with the Living Word.  When we have God’s Holy Word embedded in our hearts and minds, we can easily discern God’s will because we already know what He has to say on the matter at hand.  His record stands the test of time.  He is forever, and His Word is forever.

Thank You, Holy Spirit, for showing me one more reason I need to spend more time reading, memorizing, and meditating on God’s Word.

MONDAY SANITY SAVER: KEEP A RUNNING GROCERY LIST

This one is simple but really helpful: I keep a running grocery list so that when grocery shopping time arrives, I don’t have to sit down and make my list from scratch.  I use a printable list that I found at FreePrintableGroceryList.com.  There are over 45 lists from which to choose – my favorite is the “Master List.”  Check out the site and leave a comment letting me know which list is your favorite!

Hope this tip helps your Monday (and the other six days of the week) go a little smoother.  Be Blessed and Bless Someone Today!

(Disclaimer: I was in no way compensated by FreePrintableGroceryList.com for this post.  I just find their tools helpful and wanted to share them with my readers.)   

