Tags

, , , , , ,

Church of the Beatitudes on the northern coast...

Church of the Beatitudes on the northern coast of Galilee -Image via Wikipedia

My husband just completed a sermon series on The Beatitudes, so I thought this would be a good topic for our Tuesday series. We began by learning how Jesus set the stage for his sermon.  Then we studied the first Beatitude and learned what it means to be poor in spirit.  Two weeks ago we examined what it looks like to mourn our sinful state.  And last Tuesday we learned about meekness and obedience.  Today we move on to Beatitude #4:

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
For they shall be filled. ~ Matthew 5:6

BLESSED ARE THOSE WHO HUNGER AND THIRST FOR RIGHTEOUSNESS…

To be spiritually hungry or thirsty is to recognize that you lack the fullness of God in your daily life.  As my husband teaches, “The problem with many Christians is that they ignore the warning signs of spiritual starvation.  Physically, you can go four to six weeks without food, and seven to nine days without water.  During that time your body makes adjustments. The body draws from fat reserves (leanness), then from muscle/organs (sunken eyes), then the marrow of the bone (disease due to lack of white blood cells).  Spiritually speaking, when you shut Jesus out, you make adjustments that let sinful things enter in.”

… FOR THEY SHALL BE FILLED.

When we search for God’s righteousness, we are filled with God’s righteousness!  The world may say that there is no absolute truth, but believers know that God IS Truth, and His Word is Truth. (John 17:17)  God’s Word is relevant and permanent.  It is sufficient for salvation (Romans 1:16).  It is sufficient for manifestation and sanctification (John 14:21).  It satisfies! “But whoever drinks of the water that I shall give him will never thirst. But the water that I shall give him will become in him a fountain of water springing up into everlasting life.” (John 4:14)  When we search for God’s righteousness, He fills us to overflowing – and that overflow spills onto those around us.

Next week, we’ll see how God works His righteousness in our lives to improve our relationships with other people…

QUESTIONS FOR REFLECTION AND MEDITATION:

  • You may have heard the saying, “Seven days without prayer makes one weak.”  How is your prayer life?  Are you spiritually depleted?  Do you need to hit the “reset” button and make a fresh commitment to daily prayer and Scripture study time?  Like David, you can pray, “O God, You are my God; Early will I seek You; My soul thirsts for You;  My flesh longs for You in a dry and thirsty land where there is no water.” (Psalm 63:1)
  • Do you live your life according to God’s standards of righteousness and truth?  Are there areas in your life where you have compromised? (Entertainment choices, apathetic attitude toward blatant sinfulness, mode of dress, language, thought life, etc.)  Confess these sins to God, and ask Him to purge them from your life so that you may be filled with His righteousness.
O God, You are My God, and I will ever praise You!  Thank You for having mercy on me, a sinner, one who is not worthy to speak Your Holy Name.  I ask You now to search my heart, and reveal to me the things that do not please and glorify You, so that I may confess and repent of them before You.  Help me to stay committed to daily communion with You in prayer and meditation on Your Holy Word.  Fill me, Lord, with Your righteousness, so that I will not seek to fill the “God-shaped hole” in my life with anything other than You.  I love you, Lord, and I lift Your Name on high!  Amen.
_________________________________________________________
