Tags

, , , , ,

Los Ángeles County Fair, Fairplex, Pomona, Cal...

Image via Wikipedia

Welcome to another Monday… I hope you had a great weekend!  Now it’s time to gear up for the coming week.  We have quite a busy one for our family… my husband is on a hunting trip, our county fair opens tonight, and my son’s first overnight Cub Scout camp-out is Saturday.  And as the holidays approach, we will only get busier!

I know that each season brings its own kind of busyness to our lives.  So several years ago I invested in a tool that I hoped would help us be able to keep up with all the different activities, appointments, and family events that tend to stack up so quickly.  It’s worked so well, I want to share it with you.

MONDAY SANITY SAVER:  THE FLYLADY 17-MONTH CALENDAR

FlyLady 2012 calendar

If you have never heard of FlyLady, then it is my pleasure to introduce you to this wonderful woman who has helped so many people “FLY” into a more organized and less chaotic life.  (Be sure to click here to learn more about FlyLady, her personal testimony, and how her system works.)  This is the best calendar I have ever used.  Here are a few reasons why I feel this way:

The spaces for each day are large enough to hold info for several events.  No more squeezing tiny writing into a tiny square, only to squint at it later and wonder, “What did I write?”  There is also a large box for notes.  There are no pictures – this is purely a functional calendar.  Somehow that makes it an even better tool for me.  If I mess up and scratch things out, it’s okay.  It doesn’t ruin the aesthetics of the calendar.

On the last page of the calendar, there is a dry-erase page with a sleeve, as well as a snapshot calendar of the upcoming year.  When my son’s school sends home a monthly newsletter or yearly calendar and I don’t have time to write everything on the calendar right away, I put the papers in this sleeve, so I can find them easily when I do have the time to put the info on the calendar.  (I do the same with church newsletters, etc.)

There are several options available if you want to order this calendar.  FlyLady has created stickers to use that help some families keep track of events, as well as helping keep up with the FlyLady cleaning and organizing system schedule.  She also offers a student sticker kit that has extra school-related stickers.  I personally do not use these stickers, so I just purchase the calendar alone.

Image FlyLady Sticker Kit

You may be asking yourself, “What’s wrong with just using the calendar on my smart phone?”  My answer: there’s nothing wrong with that.  I use mine every day.  But this calendar is truly a family calendar – my husband can see what is going on at a glance.  My son has used it to learn how to read a calendar, and he is now proud to write some of his activities and notes on it by himself!  But one of the things I love best about this calendar is that it becomes a diary of my family’s life for each year.  It is large enough that it doesn’t fit into the standard box that I shove paperwork into for quick storage, so that forces me to find a good storage place for them.  And then I know exactly where they are when I need to look up a date or event.  A smaller calendar would get lost in the shuffle in my house.

So there you have it – my reasons for loving my FlyLady calendar!  I hope you found this information helpful, and even if you don’t purchase one for yourself, maybe you found a calendar management tip that will make your Mondays easier.

Teach us to number our days aright, that we may gain a heart of wisdom. ~ Psalm 90:12

(Note: I was in no way compensated by FlyLady or her company for this post.  I just really like this calendar and wanted to share its benefits with my readers.)

