Tags

, , , , , , ,

Gift card boxes

Image by justmakeit via Flickr

Okay, who knows how many days we have left until Christmas?  I don’t know the exact number, but I do know that somehow, every year, it sneaks up on me.  So today, let’s discuss how to start preparing for the holidays. (If you’ve already begun, don’t tell me.)  These are two simple ideas, but I promise they will help your holidays go smoother!

FOR THE SAVERS: HOMEMADE GIFTS AND CRAFT IDEAS – ON PINTEREST

I have the best intentions of making cute crafts with my son… but I never get around to doing it.  And suddenly I find myself scrambling to come up with teacher gifts and last-minute goodies for get-togethers.  So this year I have decided to get a head start, and at least look for some cute ideas for holiday gifts and crafts.  That way, when I start to scramble, I will have all the “how-to” info in one place.

One of my friends, Trish, turned me on to this amazing website called Pinterest.  Wow.  It’s a virtual pin-board where members can share recipes, crafts, decorating and fashion ideas, and so much more just by “pinning” each other’s ideas on their own “boards.”  I’ve only been using it a little while, but I have already collected some wonderful recipes (and I’ve even made one!) and great craft ideas for the holidays.  WARNING: This site is highly addictive.  So if you check it out, plan to spend some time browsing the boards… you will not want to leave quickly!!!

FOR THE SHOPPERS: GIFTCARDRESCUE.COM – DISCOUNT GIFT CARDS

Gift cards make wonderful gifts!  (That’s why they’re called “gift cards,” right?)  But wouldn’t they be even better if you could buy them at a discount?  Well, you can at GiftCardRescue.com, a gift card exchange website.  Here’s how it works:  Jane has a gift card to XYZ Store that she cannot use.  She gets a quote from the site, mails in her card, and gets paid for it (as much as 90% of the card’s value).  Meanwhile, Susie has been looking to buy a gift card to XYZ Store, and she can buy the one Jane mailed in, at a discounted price (usually 4-30% off).  It’s a win-win!    You can shop for gift cards that they mail to you, or discount codes you can use almost instantly for online shopping.  I love this idea, and I’m going to use it to do some of my holiday shopping this year!

Enjoy your weekend – stay safe, and look for ways to stretch your budget. Godly stewardship of our resources is the goal!  Be Blessed!

Better a little with the fear of the LORD, than great wealth with turmoil. ~ Proverbs 15:16

