Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Michelangelo's Pietà in St. Peter's Basilica i...

Image via Wikipedia

For by one offering He has perfected forever those who are being sanctified.  ~ Hebrews 10:14

Yesterday I saw a t-shirt that said “I am Perfect.”  Of course that caught my attention.  When I looked closer, I saw that it had Hebrews 10:14 printed underneath.  And I thought, “Wow.  That means I am perfect too!”

This life is not perfect.  This world is not perfect.  There is no such thing as a perfect day, a perfect performance, a perfect family, a perfect home.  But Jesus is perfect.  And His offering – His sacrificial death and triumph over sin – is perfect and whole, complete forever.  Because I have accepted Jesus as the Lord of my life, His perfect righteousness covers my imperfections and failures.  In God’s sight, I am already perfect.  Forever.

Isn’t it reassuring to know that while we are being purified and sanctified in our bodies in this life, we are already perfect in our salvation?  Thank you, Jesus, for giving this very imperfect girl the certain hope of a perfect forever.

Have a wonderful Sunday!  I am determined to get a nap in at some point… it won’t be perfect, but it will help!  Remember to take a moment and thank God for his perfect holiness and love for us.

