Tags

, , ,

Closet

Image by dansays via Flickr

   THE WISDOM OF THE LORD, GIVEN TO US WHO BELIEVE

       6 For the LORD gives wisdom;
From His mouth come knowledge and understanding;
7 He stores up sound wisdom for the upright;
He is a shield to those who walk uprightly;
8 He guards the paths of justice,
And preserves the way of His saints.  ~ Proverbs 2:6-8. NKJV

Isn’t it reassuring to know that the LORD gives wisdom freely to those who seek Him?  Not only does He give it, He stores it up for us and shields us with it.  When we apply His wisdom to our daily decisions and actions, He promises to guard and preserve us.

On a Monday morning, these are the promises I need to hear.  Remember, though, that God’s promises are always conditional.  We have to do our part in order to reap the benefits of God’s grace and mercy.  So what do we have to do to receive wisdom from the LORD?

We must walk uprightly… how do we do that?

I will simply refer you to Proverbs 3:5-6, which sums it up pretty succinctly:

       5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
6 In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.

MONDAY SANITY SAVER: SET OUT CLOTHES THE NIGHT BEFORE

I know we have all heard this one before – but it really does help.  I know.  I am a procrastinator by nature, and I cannot begin to count the number of times I have planned to wear “Specific Outfit X” only to realize that it was dirty or wrinkled or missing.  (Yes, missing…) Then of course, Outfit Y (which I didn’t think I would need) would definitely be dirty or wrinkled or missing a button… I think you get the picture.

After quite a few wardrobe adventures, I have finally tried to get into the habit of setting out clothes the night before.  This really helps on a hectic Monday morning, but it’s actually a great idea for every night of the week.  My husband wears a work uniform, and my son has a school uniform, so it’s important that I set their clothes out to make sure I’m taking care of their needs throughout the week.  And let’s not forget Saturday night and setting out the Sunday best for each family member.  For some reason, Sunday mornings don’t always go as smoothly as we would like.  I don’t think it’s just our family.  I’ve heard rumors that other people deal with the Sunday morning wardrobe wars too.

So, if you don’t already set out clothes the night before, why not give it a try this week?  And if you are already wise enough to practice this habit, how has it helped you?  Feel free to share your experiences in the comments!

Have a wonderfully blessed Monday!

