Tags

, , ,

The original Piggly Wiggly Store, Memphis, Ten...

The original Piggly Wiggly Store, Memphis, Tennessee, circa 1916. Image via Wikipedia

Who’s looking forward to the weekend?  I know I am!   Our family has a busy weekend planned (as usual) but I hope to squeeze in a tiny bit of grocery shopping somewhere along the way.

Each Saturday, I will share some tips for those who like to save money, as well as those who like to spend money. (Within reason, of course!)  So for today’s post, I chose a subject that applies to both types.

KNOW THE STORES’ COUPON AND RETURN/EXCHANGE POLICIES

This quite simply helps you to save time as well as money.  For those of you who coupon, being familiar with each store’s coupon policy helps to avoid potentially embarrassing situations at check-out.  It also helps you to know which coupons a store accepts, so that you don’t waste time clipping or printing coupons you won’t be able to use.  I have found that it is easiest for me to concentrate on learning one store at a time.  Grocery stores, national chain stores, and drugstores have a published coupon policy posted on their websites.  Although most coupon blogs and websites have coupon policies listed, it’s always a good idea to print one directly from the store website so you have an “official” copy to which you can refer.

For those of you who shop for electronics and clothes, be sure you understand the store or website’s return and exchange policies before you spend money, even if you feel sure you it will be the perfect purchase.  So many times I have come across items at yard sales, thrift shops, or even been given items because the person bought it, realized they couldn’t use it, and then found out they couldn’t return it or exchange it.  Most of the time this happens because the time limit on returns/exchanges has expired.  Often, a receipt is required for a full refund; without one, you are locked into an exchange or a partial refund, or just stuck with the item.  I recommend creating a simple filing system to keep up with receipts.  (I use spare return envelopes from junk mail to store my receipts.) You never know when you might need a receipt, not just for a return, but also for a rebate submission.  Who couldn’t use a rebate check in the mail every once in a while?

I hope this information helps everyone.  Feel free to leave suggestions for future Savings & Swag posts in the comments!

Stewardship Thought for the Week:

Principle #1: God is the source of everything.  

Philippians 4:19 says, “My God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” Proverbs 8:20,21 adds, “I lead in the way of righteousness, in the midst of the paths of judgment: that I may cause those that love me to inherit substance; and I will fill their treasures.”

And 2 Corinthians 9:8 says: “And God is able to make all grace abound toward you; that ye, always having all sufficiency in all things, may abound to every good work.” Whenever we need money or possessions, prayer is the answer. Look to the Lord, because He will provide it -according to His will.

(Excerpted from “10 Financial Principles That are Biblical” by George Fooshee.  http://www.backtothebible.org/10-financial-principles-that-are-biblical.html  I will share Principle #2 next week!)

