Tags

, , ,

Feed Your Flock

Recipe of the Week – Classic Meatloaf

Classic Meatloaf - Leah's version

My version of Classic Meatloaf

Fall is here, and with it comes cooler weather (hopefully) and a return to some comfort foods that just seem to fit the season.  So today, I will share my version of a recipe that most everyone has around – Classic Meatloaf.                                                                                                                                 

Classic Meatloaf

1 lb. ground beef                                                                                   1 lb. ground turkey or venison                                                                   3 eggs, lightly beaten                                                                             1 c. breadcrumbs or quick-cooking oats (I prefer breadcrumbs)                      1 c. finely chopped onion                                                                        1 c. ketchup (or canned tomato sauce made for meatloaf)                            1 tsp. ground thyme                                                                               Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 350 °.  Lightly grease a 9×5 loaf pan (I use two pans and make two smaller loaves).  Combine all ingredients in a large bowl.  Knead the mixture with your hands until everything is well-blended – do not overmix.  Fill loaf pan(s) with mixture, mounding the top.  Place pan(s) on baking sheet and bake for 1 to 1 ¼ hours, or until a meat thermometer reads 160 °.  Pour off the excess fat and let stand for 15 minutes before serving.

Leah’s tips:                                                                                                       If I plan ahead and have the time, I let the eggs and ketchup sit out for about 30 minutes and let the meat sit in the mixing bowl for about 20 minutes before I begin to mix everything.  I found over time that if all the ingredients are straight from the fridge, my hands are FREEZING before I’m finished mixing.  I’ve tried mixing with utensils, and I had to go back to using my hands.  All the ingredients are combined so much more evenly that way.  I really dislike getting my hands all yucky with raw meat and eggs, but this is one time where the effort is worth it.

I make two smaller loaves, one to serve immediately and one to freeze for later.  I wrap the loaf destined for the freezer in 3-4 layers of aluminum foil and then place it in a zippered plastic freezer bag.  I also write the contents and date on the foil with a permanent marker because I know I will forget what it is after a few days. (It also helps my husband to know what it is when he goes on a freezer search-and-clean-out mission, which he does occasionally!)

(Recipe adapted from Joy of Cooking, Simon & Schuster, Inc. 1997. p. 722)       * Joy of Cooking is one of my very favorite cookbooks, and I think every person who does more than boil water should own a copy.  Go to  http://promo.simonandschuster.com/JoyofCooking/ to check it out! 

Meatloaf plated to serve

Meatloaf served with green beans and sweet potato casserole

Restaurant Coupons  – Ruby Tuesday

Our family loves to eat at Ruby Tuesday .  Their salad bar is always well-stocked and has great variety.  I personally have never had a bad meal there.  We know we can expect good service when we dine there. (And I’m a stickler for customer service!)  So when I found out that I could subscribe to Ruby Tuesday’s email list and receive coupons for buy-one-get-one (BOGO), discounted, and even free menu items, I was excited!

Just go to  http://www.rubytuesday.com/ and click on the “So Connected” button at the top of the screen.  Follow the instructions, and pretty soon you’ll have your first coupon to print and use!  I receive an average of 3 coupons or notifications per month.  Since we don’t eat out very much (watching the budget) we plan our Ruby Tuesday trips around our coupons.  Food just tastes better when it’s cheap or free!  Thanks Ruby Tuesday!

Meditation for Friday

This is a long post, so if you’ve made it this far, congratulations!  I will leave you with the words of Jesus from Luke 12:22-31 (NKJV), reminding us that when we live a life of trust and obedience God will supply our every need – even the food we eat.  God Bless!

22 Then He said to His disciples, “Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; nor about the body, what you will put on. 23 Life is more than food, and the body is more than clothing. 24 Consider the ravens, for they neither sow nor reap, which have neither storehouse nor barn; and God feeds them. Of how much more value are you than the birds? 25 And which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature? 26 If you then are not able to do the least, why are you anxious for the rest? 27 Consider the lilies, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; and yet I say to you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. 28 If then God so clothes the grass, which today is in the field and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, how much more will He clothe you, O you of little faith? 
29 “And do not seek what you should eat or what you should drink, nor have an anxious mind. 30 For all these things the nations of the world seek after, and your Father knows that you need these things. 31 But seek the kingdom of God, and all these things shall be added to you. 

