Tags

, , ,

Jesus is considered by scholars such as Weber ...

Image via Wikipedia

Welcome to our first “Take Time With Jesus” Tuesday post!  Each Tuesday, we will meditate on the deity, character, and ministry of Jesus Christ.

My husband is preaching a sermon series on The Beatitudes.  I thought this would be a good place to begin our Tuesday Jesus studies.  So today, we will start by looking at how Jesus set the stage for this very important lecture.

1 And seeing the multitudes, He went up on a mountain, and when He was seated His disciples came to Him. 2 Then He opened His mouth and taught them… ~ Matthew 5:1-2, NKJV

  • “He went up” – Jesus intentionally chose this location on the mountain.  He knew there would be a large audience, more than just his closest disciples.  (Matthew 7:28 describes the listeners as “the people.”)  He drew them away from everyday distractions.  My husband points out, “By isolating the crowd, Jesus sets Himself up as the central theme of the Sermon on the Mount.”
  • “When He was seated” – The word when is important here.  This indicates that Jesus controlled the gathering and commanded the crowd’s attention.  It wasn’t until He was seated that His closest disciples came to Him.
  • “He opened His mouth” – The listeners were anticipating Jesus’ teaching.  They were hanging on every word.  They didn’t know what He would say, but they knew that when He spoke, words of life would come from His mouth.  Peter expresses this sentiment in John 6:68 when he says, “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life.”
Questions for Meditation and Examination:
  1. What distracts me and takes my attention away from Jesus?  What do I need to do to refocus my thoughts on Christ this week?
  2. Christ is now seated at the right hand of God the Father.  I should come before Him with my full attention.  How can I do this outside of Sunday worship?
  3. I want to be prepared to receive a word from the Lord.  Am I spiritually in tune with what God is doing in me and through me?  Do I eagerly and expectantly anticipate God’s next assignment for my life?
Lord, I know that You speak words of life and wisdom to me.  Please help me to draw near to You, intentionally seeking to listen to You.  Even more, help me to apply Your Word to my life, so that I may glorify You more each day.  Thank You for Your Word, and for Your Son Jesus.  Amen. 
