Tags

, ,

1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2 He was in the beginning with God. 3All things were made through Him, and without Him nothing was made that was made. (John 1:1-3, NKJV)

As I take my first step into this journey of blogging, I am struck by the power of words.  After all, words are my tools here – I’m writing not only for my own benefit, but I hope that what I write will be of use and encouragement to others.  Words are my paint brush, my scrapbook, my open arms of friendship, my chosen form of personal expression.  I don’t fool myself into believing that I am a great writer, or even a good writer, but I do enjoy using the written word to communicate.

So, how do I know what to write?  I could rattle on and on about most any subject and I’m sure someone in this world would find it mildly interesting.  But my words (as everything else in my life) should serve a purpose.  I want to encourage women to become more Christ-like.  It makes sense that I should get my words from THE WORD: Jesus Christ.

I love John 1:1-3.  This Scripture reminds me that Jesus is so much more than just a man.  He is fully God.  He was present at Creation, and the same power that He had then, He has now.  What’s more, I know that because I have a personal relationship with Jesus, He gives me access to His power.  The Holy Spirit guides me as I seek to follow God’s will.  I can’t please God in my own efforts.  But through His power, I can complete any assignment He gives to me.

I firmly believe that God has called me to write this blog.  So I promise you, dear readers, that I will consider the power of words, and will prayerfully compose each post, no matter how silly or how serious it may be.  May God use me to pour out His power into your life.

